I make 4 my city : 5 Breakers games and sports

 

Project
5 Breakers games and sports

Breakers - Madrid, Valencia, Barcelona-Castelldefels, Bilbao  

Digitising traditional games to make them more attractive and more accessible, to transform an amusement park into a sports venue for all, and to adapt a kayak to the needs of disabled people.

Who & what?
Young people at FabLabs in 4 cities in Spain (Madrid, Valencia, Barcelona-Castelldefels and Bilbao) have collaborated and reinvented games and sports to make them more accessible to disabled people.

Why?
The traditional ‘toad in the hole’ game has been reinvented by young people in Spain by mixing digital manufacturing and craftsmanship to allow disabled people to take part. In Castelldefels-Barcelona, both a new design and new materials from the FabLab have made several games for children easier to use in the form of a games table. In this same FabLab, the kayak rudder normally controlled by legs has been transformed by an electronic system. In Valencia, the project involved transforming an amusement park into an accessible space for the elderly, those with physical or visual disabilities and children: garden trails, the adventures of Gulliver, entertainment, wheelchair courses, sports trails for the elderly... no one is left out! Finally, in Bilbao, a climbing wall for the visually impaired was designed with interactive audible grips and indications in Braille.

How?
The possibilities offered at the FabLabs have been used to design and manufacture pieces for board games as well as sport equipment in kits for projects focusing on a sport, like an electronic kayak rudder and a climbing wall. The prototypes for the new amusement park were prepared in 2D and 3D on FabLab machines as well as its geolocation programs.

 

share

 

Jury's Prize
 

Three other random project...

2 traditional sports from the Charente region, in France, and Brazil adapted to wheelchair users. At the Grenoble FabLab, young people from disadvantaged backgrounds are making these sports more accessible.

Peteca and Lancer de Charentaises

FabLab la Casemate - Grenoble  

A removable robot to reduce pain and strain when playing sport for rheumatism sufferers. It allows them to walk, run and swim again so that they can take care of their joints.

Rhuma Robot

Ongola FabLab - Yaoundé  

An edible game of chess you can make yourself and then eat! 13 young people have shared their digital and culinary skills to create a prototype to be used at associations, hospitals and schools... to learn about digital manufacturing and dietary health.

The chess meal tray

FabLab Pot-au-Fab - Paris  

The Solidarity FabLabs Challenge

Solidarity FabLabs introduce young people to digital manufacturing and provide training. Today the #Imake4MyCity challenge is allowing them to propose projects that make it easier for everyone, everywhere to take part in sport and also to contribute to changing the way that society looks at disability.

I make 4 my city : 5 jeux et sports de Breakers

 

Projet
5 jeux et sports de Breakers

FabLab Breakers - Madrid, Valencia, Barcelona-Castelldefels, Bilbao  

Digitaliser des jeux traditionnels pour les rendre plus attractifs et plus accessibles, transformer un parc d’attraction en lieu sportif pour tous, et adapter un kayak aux besoins des personnes handicapées.

Qui, quoi ?
Les jeunes des FabLabs de 4 villes d’Espagne (Madrid, Valence, Barcelone-Castelldefels et Bilbao) collaborent et réinventent jeux et sports pour les rendre plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées.

Pour quoi ?
Le jeu de la grenouille a été réinventé par les jeunes de Madrid en mixant fabrication numérique et artisanat pour permettre aux handicapés d’y participer. A Castelldefels-Barcelone, ce sont à la fois un nouveau design et de nouveaux matériaux issus du FabLab qui ont rendu plusieurs jeux pour enfants plus faciles à manipuler sous la forme d’une table de jeux. Dans ce même FabLab, le gouvernail du kayak normalement actionné par les jambes a été transformé par un système électronique. A Valence le projet consiste à transformer un parc d’attraction en espace accessible aux personnes âgées, handicapées moteurs ou visuels et enfant : découvertes de la botanique, des exploits de Gulliver, divertissements, courses de fauteuils roulants, parcours sportifs pour personnes âgées…personne n’est exclu ! A Bilbao enfin, c’est un mur d’escalade pour déficients visuels qui a été conçu avec poignées interactive sonores et indications en braille.

Comment ?
Les possibilités offertes dans les FabLabs ont été utilisées pour la conception et la fabrication des pièces destinées aux jeux « de société » ainsi que le matériel sportif des kits pour les projets portant sur un sport, comme le gouvernail électronique du kayak et le mur d’escalade. Les prototypes du nouveau parc d’attraction ont été préparés en 2D et 3D sur les machines des FabLabs ainsi que ses programmes de géolocalisation.

 

partager

 

 

Trois autres projets au hasard...

Offrir aux malgaches amputés d'un avant-bras une prothèse pour pratiquer ce sport olympique, véritable ciment social d'un pays où personne ne peut s'offrir une prothèse.

Une main bionique pour la pétanque

FabLab Mamiratra - Antananarivo  

Un jeu d'échec comestible à fabriquer soi-même et à consommer ! 13 jeunes croisent compétences numériques et culinaires et réalisent un prototype destiné à animer associations, hôpitaux écoles... autour de la fabrication numérique et de la santé alimentaire.

Le jeu d’échec-plateau repas

FabLab Pot-au-Fab - Paris  

Un adaptateur universel qui remplace la main pour maintenir la raquette des personnes handicapées ou amputées du bras : toutes les morphologies et tous les sports de raquette sont compatibles !

Adapt’raquette

FabLab Albilab - Albi  

Le challenge des FabLabs Solidaires

Dans les FabLabs Solidaires, les jeunes découvrent la fabrication numérique. Aujourd’hui, le challenge #Imake4MyCity leur propose de créer une solution pour développer la pratique du sport partout et pour tous, favoriser la mixité dans le sport, changer le regard de la société sur le handicap. Donc réduire les inégalités.