I make 4 my city : Adapt’raquette

 

Project
Adapt’raquette

FabLab Albilab - Albi  

A universal adapter for those who are have had their arm amputated or who suffer from a physical disability affecting their arm: all body shapes and racquet sports are compatible!

Who & what?
2 students aged 12 and 14. Léo loves electromechanics, 3D modelling and machinery. Lélio created the project presentation website.

Why?
Creating an adapter to replace a hand for those with a disability affecting their arm, allowing them to hold a racquet. It is an important development as tools that are currently available are not accessible to the general public. Adapted to all racquets and all body shapes, the Adapt’raquette could encourage widespread use by both the disabled and non-disabled, both playing with this new device!

How?
Discussion, prototype modelling, 3D printing, real world testing, use of the Wikifab virtual tutorial platform, contact with occupational therapists and fabmanagement throughout the project. The first part of the Adapt’raquette is placed in a solid support surrounding a pressurised blood pressure monitor membrane. The second part is a fastening system made of a small adjustable splint with a Velcro band.

 

share

 

 

Three other random project...

Offering a prosthesis to Madagascans who have had their forearm amputated so they can play this Olympic sport, a real unifying social force in a country where no one can get a prosthesis.

A bionic hand to play pétanque

FabLab Mamiratra - Antananarivo  

An edible game of chess you can make yourself and then eat! 13 young people have shared their digital and culinary skills to create a prototype to be used at associations, hospitals and schools... to learn about digital manufacturing and dietary health.

The chess meal tray

FabLab Pot-au-Fab - Paris  

A boccia ramp was created at the Bordeaux FabLab to make this strategic sport a parasport. Faboccia is adapted to all bowls sports and all disabilities.

Faboccia

FabLab 127° Cap Sciences - Bordeaux  

The Solidarity FabLabs Challenge

Solidarity FabLabs introduce young people to digital manufacturing and provide training. Today the #Imake4MyCity challenge is allowing them to propose projects that make it easier for everyone, everywhere to take part in sport and also to contribute to changing the way that society looks at disability.

I make 4 my city : Adapt’raquette

 

Projet
Adapt’raquette

FabLab Albilab - Albi  

Un adaptateur universel qui remplace la main pour maintenir la raquette des personnes handicapées ou amputées du bras : toutes les morphologies et tous les sports de raquette sont compatibles !

Qui, quoi ?
2 jeunes collégiens de 12 et 14 ans. Léo se passionne pour l’électromécanique, la modélisation 3D et les machines. Lélio réalise le site internet de présentation du projet.

Pour quoi ?
Créer un adaptateur qui remplace la main des personnes handicapées du bras et leur permet de tenir la raquette. Une nécessité car les outils disponibles aujourd’hui ne sont pas accessibles au grand public. Adaptée à toutes les raquettes et à toutes les morphologies, l’adapt’raquette laisse imaginer une pratique très large du sport de raquette à la fois pour valides et invalides, équipés tous deux par ce nouvel objet !

Comment ?
Réflexion, modélisation du prototype, impression en 3D, test en situation réelle, utilisation de la plateforme virtuelle de tutoriel Wikifab, contacts avec les ergothérapeutes et le fabmanagement tout au long du projet bien-sûr. Une première partie de l’adapt’raquette est placée dans un support rigide entourant une membrane de tensiomètre mise sous pression. La seconde partie est un système de fixation composé d’une petite gouttière ajustable avec bande velcro.

 

partager

 

 

Trois autres projets au hasard...

La rampe de Boccia créée au FabLab Solidaire de Bordeaux pour faire de ce sport de stratégie un handisport. Faboccia est adaptée à tous les sports de boules, tous les handicaps.

Stratégie, jeu, sport, la boccia pour tous

FabLab 127° Cap Sciences - Bordeaux  

Un tapis sonore pour l'activité physique et ludique des non-voyants : bouger en suivant la provenance des sons, c'est pouvoir à la fois s'amuser et faire du sport, c'est sortir de son isolement.

Le tapis magique pour non-voyants

FabLab Defko Ak Niep - Dakar  

Le challenge des FabLabs Solidaires

Dans les FabLabs Solidaires, les jeunes découvrent la fabrication numérique. Aujourd’hui, le challenge #Imake4MyCity leur propose de créer une solution pour développer la pratique du sport partout et pour tous, favoriser la mixité dans le sport, changer le regard de la société sur le handicap. Donc réduire les inégalités.