The 4th Solidarity FabLabs challenge!

Kinshasa in 3D

Lisungi Fablab  -  Democratic Republic of the Congo

Eight young people aged 19 to 27 on forced breaks from their studies took part in a Solidarity FabLab to learn about digital manufacturing (modelling, electronics, cutting, printing, woodworking, and so on). Supported by an architect, they devised and developed an architectural model that is artistic yet professional and brings a city neighbourhood to life. It is the first 3D digital rendering of a part of Kinshasa city centre and it depicts urban developments and traffic conditions. The next steps are to find exhibition spaces and to work on other neighbourhoods and other cities.

Discover a video of the project.

The project in photos

Kinshasa in 3D
Kinshasa in 3D
Kinshasa in 3D

Other projects to discover

Electronic clothing Ongola FabLab, Yaounde   

Combining aspects of healthcare, fashion and safety, these garments incorporate electronics to provide light, measure body temperature, and geo-locate the wearer. Three young people aged 23 to 35...

Human/machine design La Coopérative Pointcarré, Saint-Denis   

"La Coopérative Poincarré" Solidarity FabLab, Saint-Denis (France) Artists and young people in civic service offered a new take on artistic production processes by turning a digital cutting plotter...

The handwriting lamp EL Fabspace, Tunis   

This creation was born when young people from districts of Tunis and other regions met craftspeople and an artist at the FabLab. A joint brainstorming of the poetic concept of street words was...

The magic dress FabLabInox, Gueugnon   

Working with a dressmaker and a graphic designer, several unemployed young people in civic service created an embroidered dress lit up using fibre optic lights. They made its patterns using a...

Stay in the loop,
subscribe to our newsletter

Vote for the third Solidarity FabLab challenge!

Since 2015, we have offered free training in our Solidarity FabLabs to young people leading difficult lives. In the FabLabs they learn digital manufacturing, teamwork and perhaps a future trade. Our international challenge is aimed at them. It allows them to use our FabLabs to develop a project from A to Z and show everything they are capable of doing today. This year, it is all about using digital technology to devise and produce creations for the worlds of fashion, design and the arts.

#Imake4MyCity

Le 4e challenge des FabLabs Solidaires !

Kinshasa en 3D

Lisungi Fablab  -  République démocratique du Congo

8 jeunes de 19 à 27 ans ayant dû interrompre leurs études ont rejoint le FabLab Solidaire pour apprendre la fabrication numérique (modélisation, électronique, découpe, impression, travail du bois…). Avec l’appui d’un architecte, ils ont inventé et développé une maquette architecturale, à la fois artistique et professionnelle, qui donne vie à un quartier de la ville. 1ère représentation numérique en 3D d'une partie du centre-ville de Kinshasa, elle met en scène réalisations urbaines et conditions de circulation. Trouver des lieux d’exposition tout en s’attaquant à d’autres quartiers et d’autres villes sont les prochaines étapes.

Découvrez le projet en vidéo

Le projet en photos

Kinshasa en 3D
Kinshasa en 3D
Kinshasa en 3D

D'autres projets à découvrir

La mode en mode recyclage Lisungi Fablab   

Trois jeunes femmes de 19 à 23 ans ayant dû interrompre leurs études se sont formées au FabLab et y ont imaginé une ligne de vêtements et d’accessoires à partir de matériaux recyclés : fils, capsules,...

La robe magique FabLabInox, Gueugnon   

Associés à une couturière et à une graphiste, plusieurs jeunes sans emploi en service civique ont créé une robe faite de broderies et rendue lumineuse par des éclairages en fibre optique. Ils ont...

Les babouches esthétiques et thérapeutiques Ongola FabLab, Yaounde   

Comment dynamiser l’artisanat local et lui faire répondre aux attentes d’aujourd’hui ? Deux jeunes ont relevé le défi en faisant équipe avec un menuisier et les technologies du FabLab. A 19 et 24 ans,...

Le studio photo mobile Fablab La Verrière, Montreuil   

Ce projet s’inspire du travail de photographes contemporains eux-mêmes inspirés des studios photos africains des années 50. Il s’agit pour les jeunes du FabLab Solidaire de réinventer un nouveau...

Le 4e challenge des FabLabs Solidaires,
découvrez les gagnants le 5 novembre 2020 à 17h30 (CET)
en direct sur fondationorange.com

Dans nos FabLabs Solidaires, depuis 2015, nous formons gratuitement des jeunes qui rencontrent des difficultés dans leur vie. Ils y apprennent la fabrication numérique, le travail en équipe et peut-être un futur métier. Notre challenge international s’adresse à eux. Il leur permet de développer au FabLab un projet de A à Z et de montrer tout ce qu’ils sont capables de faire aujourd’hui. Cette année, il s’agit d’imaginer et de produire grâce au numérique des créations appliquées aux univers de la mode, du design, des arts.

#Imake4MyCity