The 4th Solidarity FabLabs challenge!

The magic dress

FabLabInox, Gueugnon  -  France

Working with a dressmaker and a graphic designer, several unemployed young people in civic service created an embroidered dress lit up using fibre optic lights. They made its patterns using a digital embroidery machine and created its tiara with a 3D printer. Teaming up at the FabLab, the young people, artisans and artists learned to work together and share their knowledge to design and make this cabaret dress and inspire others.

Discover a video of the project.

The project in photos

The magic dress
The magic dress
The magic dress

Other projects to discover

Human/machine design La Coopérative Pointcarré, Saint-Denis   

"La Coopérative Poincarré" Solidarity FabLab, Saint-Denis (France) Artists and young people in civic service offered a new take on artistic production processes by turning a digital cutting plotter...

Designer lights Lacq Odyssée, Mourenx   

These original creations are the work of a group of young people who are not in education or training. The FabLab allowed them to put their ideas into practice, and then to consider marketing:...

Fashion through recycling Lisungi Fablab   

Three women aged 19 to 23 on forced breaks from their studies trained in the FabLab, where they designed a line of clothing and accessories made from recycled materials such as thread, bottle...

The handwriting lamp EL Fabspace, Tunis   

This creation was born when young people from districts of Tunis and other regions met craftspeople and an artist at the FabLab. A joint brainstorming of the poetic concept of street words was...

Stay in the loop,
subscribe to our newsletter

Vote for the third Solidarity FabLab challenge!

Since 2015, we have offered free training in our Solidarity FabLabs to young people leading difficult lives. In the FabLabs they learn digital manufacturing, teamwork and perhaps a future trade. Our international challenge is aimed at them. It allows them to use our FabLabs to develop a project from A to Z and show everything they are capable of doing today. This year, it is all about using digital technology to devise and produce creations for the worlds of fashion, design and the arts.

#Imake4MyCity

Le 4e challenge des FabLabs Solidaires !

La robe magique

FabLabInox, Gueugnon  -  France

Associés à une couturière et à une graphiste, plusieurs jeunes sans emploi en service civique ont créé une robe faite de broderies et rendue lumineuse par des éclairages en fibre optique. Ils ont réalisé ses motifs avec une brodeuse numérique et créé son diadème avec une imprimante 3D. Réunis au FabLab, jeunes, artisans, artistes ont appris à travailler ensemble et à partager leurs connaissances pour imaginer et réaliser cette robe de cabaret et en inspirer d’autres.

Découvrez le projet en vidéo

Le projet en photos

La robe magique
La robe magique
La robe magique

D'autres projets à découvrir

La mode en mode recyclage Lisungi Fablab   

Trois jeunes femmes de 19 à 23 ans ayant dû interrompre leurs études se sont formées au FabLab et y ont imaginé une ligne de vêtements et d’accessoires à partir de matériaux recyclés : fils, capsules,...

Le bus re-designé Garagelab - Llindar, Cornellà de Llobregat   

Cette transformation d’un bus en en lieu d’information et d’orientation qui ira à la rencontre des jeunes dans l’agglomération de Barcelone, fait intervenir une centaine de jeunes âgés de 15 à 21 ans...

La peinture vivante Fablab Solidaire Senécole   

L’oeuvre créée par un artiste peintre et deux autres jeunes est un tableau interactif qui détecte le toucher et y répond par des informations vocales. Connecté il incruste aussi un personnage vidéo...

Le dessin homme/machine La Coopérative Pointcarré, Saint-Denis   

FabLab Solidaire « la Coopérative Poincarré » Saint-Denis (France) Artistes et jeunes en service civique ont revisité les processus de production artistique en transformant un plotter de découpe...

Le 4e challenge des FabLabs Solidaires,
découvrez les gagnants le 5 novembre 2020 à 17h30 (CET)
en direct sur fondationorange.com

Dans nos FabLabs Solidaires, depuis 2015, nous formons gratuitement des jeunes qui rencontrent des difficultés dans leur vie. Ils y apprennent la fabrication numérique, le travail en équipe et peut-être un futur métier. Notre challenge international s’adresse à eux. Il leur permet de développer au FabLab un projet de A à Z et de montrer tout ce qu’ils sont capables de faire aujourd’hui. Cette année, il s’agit d’imaginer et de produire grâce au numérique des créations appliquées aux univers de la mode, du design, des arts.

#Imake4MyCity