OUM

Born in Casablanca, Oum El Ghaït Ben Essahraoui is a singer-songwriter. An ambassador of Moroccan culture, her songs combine influences from jazz, soul, afrobeat, and Sufi music, and she draws on Hassaniya poetry (a Moroccan desert culture) and African rhythms.
Following "Soul of Morocco" in 2013 and "Zarabi" in 2015, her latest album "Daba" came out in 2019. Recorded in Berlin, Daba is a record that is both atmospheric and danceable. Expressed in a poetry stripped of any pretention, the themes addressed in this album are her humanism, her feminism, her spirituality, and the importance she gives to reconnecting with nature’s mysteries.
Oum was the Orange Foundation’s Coup de Coeur in 2014, when she made her professional début on stage at the Festival Au Fil des Voix in Paris.

 

 

Follow Oum: TwitterFacebookInstagram

Phot credit: Lamia Lahbabi

The artists

Angelique Kidjo

Ablaye Cissoko

Axelle Fanyo

BIM

Celine Banza

La Tempete

Kandy Guira

Maitrise de Radio France

Rene Ramos Premier

André Manoukian

Since 1987, we have accompanied 134 professional musical groups: choirs, orchestras, vocal groups and participated in the detection of many young artists in France and Africa. For most of them, we were their very first sponsor. Our Night of the Voice honors them.

Share this page

OUM

Originaire de Casablanca, la chanteuse Oum El Ghaït Benessahraoui est autrice-compositrice-interprète. Ambassadrice de la culture marocaine, elle mêle dans ses chansons, les influences jazz, soul, afrobeat et musique soufie, s’inspirant de la poésie hassanya (culture du désert marocain) et des rythmes africains.

Après « Soul of Morocco » en 2013 et « Zarabi » en 2015, son dernier album « Daba » est sorti en 2019. Enregistré à Berlin, Daba est un disque à la fois atmosphérique et dansant. Exprimés à travers une poésie dépouillée de tout artifice, les thèmes abordés dans cet album sont l’humanisme, le féminisme, la spiritualité.

Oum a été nommé Coup de Coeur de la Fondation Orange en 2014, lors de ses débuts professionnels sur scène à l’occasion du Festival Au Fil des Voix à Paris.

 

 

Retrouvez Oum : TwitterFacebookInstagram

Crédit photo : Lamia Lahbabi

Les artistes

Angélique Kidjo

Ablaye Cissoko

Axelle Fanyo

BIM

Céline Banza

La Tempête

Kandy Guira

Maîtrise de Radio France

René Ramos Premier

André Manoukian

Depuis 1987, nous avons accompagné 134 formations musicales professionnelles : chœurs, orchestres, groupes vocaux et participé à la détection de nombreux jeunes artistes en France et en Afrique. Pour la plupart, nous avons été leur tout premier mécène. Notre Nuit de la Voix les met à l'honneur.

Partager cette page